The successive winning of the Grand Award at 2018 TVB Inter-Collegiate Documentary Competition

Journalism students from Chu Hai College of Higher Education won the Grand Prize of the 2018 TVB Inter-Collegiate Documentary Competition. Our students won the first prize for two consecutive years for the documentary competition which was participated by journalism students from the local universities and self-financing institutions in Hong Kong.

The prize presentation ceremony was held on 16 august and was broadcast live by TVB anywhere to all overseas Chinese audience throughout the world by TVB network.

The judging panel of this year’s competition said they were impressed by the topic selected by students. The topic itself was a topical social issue related to “#Me Too Anti-sexual harassment”.

In addition, some judges observed that they gave high marks to our student’s work because the students could manage to tackle the sensitive issue from different perspectives to give audience a proper understanding of this social problem.

This year, a team of 7 final year students (including Leung Cheuk Yan, Chu Ho Ki, Mak Shun Yin, Wong Wai Tung, Tang Shuk Wa, Lee Yi Lok, Ho Yu Ki) from the Department of Journalism and Communication worked mostly on weekends after their normal study time to conduct interviews and editing of the 8-minute news documentary which was named “Say No to Sexual Abuse”.

A representative of the winning team, Ho Yu Ki said, “I share the joy with my teammates and also our teacher (Senior Lecture Mr. So Wing Kuen, Wallace) for his professional advice on our work”. In addition, he said, “We would like to express our deepest gratitude to the interviewees, who are very brave to come out and share with us their stories and bitter experience in order to arouse public awareness and understanding the problem. It has been a taboo that people in the past have evaded to talk and discuss, but we hope the documentary will lift the curtain for us to face the problem instead of evading from…” he said.

This is the 5th year for TVB to organize the inter-collegiate documentary competition and each institution is given $20,000 as production costs. The participating universities and tertiary institutions include the University of Hong Kong, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong Shue Yan University, Hang Seng Management College, The College of International Education (HKBU), Chu Hai College of Higher Education, and The City University of Hong Kong.
Apart from the Grand Award, two Commendation Awards were given to Hong Kong Baptist University and The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

More Information may be obtained at the below link: